# aO\*H\*I\*O Masters Swim Club Annual Meeting Saturday, June 5, 2021 Virtual Meeting by ZOOM

Board Members Present: Ann Marshfield, Nelson Abbey, Bruce Allen, Chuck Beatty, Anne Hegnauer, Andrew McCollister, Keith Owen, Mark Stewart,

Not Present: Lori Luken, Ashley Zoeller,

Members Present: Kristen Bergmann, Jess Bibbo, Andrew Bollinger, Bob Boyce, Ashley Braniecki, Doug Brogan, Marisa Celeste, John Daily, Kelly Dillon, Jordan Dillon, Tom Gorman, Jonathan Henning, Matthew Jaroszewicz, Keith Kearney, Jim, LaMastra, Judi Norton, Yoshi Oyakawa, Diana Pi, Melinda Smith, Diane Spence, Tom Spence, Tony Thomas, Anne Tillie, Sara Tillie, Bob Williams,

Unidentified Members: Jill Stierli, Kathleen Dillon, Nancy & Sid (Sid Hall?)

Guests: Lynn Brogan,

Opening Comments: Ann made some opening comments.

Call to Order – Ann called the Annual Meeting to order at 11:40 am.

- A. Agenda: The agenda was distributed before the meeting and is attached.
- B. Minutes from June 6, 2020, Annual Board Meeting:
  - a. Ann asked for changes and approval. Minutes approved.
- C. Minutes from April 3, 2021, Board Meeting:
  - a. Ann asked for changes and approval. Minutes approved.
- D. Secretary's Report:
  - a. Mark briefly described, "What is O\*H\*I\*O Masters?"
- E. Treasurer's Report:
  - a. Keith presented financial results. Balance Sheet and Profit & Loss statements were shown but copies were not distributed; consequently, they are not attached. Final statements should be available after June 30, as that is the end of the club's fiscal year.
  - b. Keith projects a \$5000 loss for the fiscal year ending June 30, despite the USMS COVID Relief Grant.
  - c. The club is spending our surplus funds to get through the pandemic.

# F. Vice President's Report:

a. Andrew announced that Ann Marshfield is the 2020 recipient of the Dot Donnelly Service Award. Further Dan Cox received an award.

- b. Andrew thanked departing coach Jessie Zielinski, and new coaches Gabby Kariotakis, Andy Reid, Judi Norton, and Marisa Celeste.
- c. Andrew thanked departing board members.

## G. President's Report:

a. Ann announced that Marianne Brogan and Yoshi Oyakawa were recipients of O\*H\*I\*O Masters' 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award.

### H. Brogan Open Water Classic:

- a. Chuck reported on how the COVID-19 pandemic affected the 2020 Brogan Open Water Classic.
- b. This year's Brogan is on July 17, 2021, at Edgewater Park, Cleveland.
- c. Chuck indicated the club will likely host a 2022 national event.

# I. Upcoming Swim Meets:

a. Ann reviewed upcoming swim meets.

#### J. Board Elections:

- a. Ann reviewed the positions to be elected: Treasurer, Secretary, and three Trustees. All positions have two-year terms.
- b. Ann asked for nominations from the floor for Treasurer. There were none. Bob Boyce was elected by acclamation.
- c. Ann asked for nominations from the floor for Secretary. There were none. Kristen Bergmann was elected by acclamation.
- d. Ann introduced the four candidates for Trustee: Nelson Abbey, Chuck Beatty, Jim LaMastra, Sara Tillie. Each candidate briefly spoke.
- e. As a result of the vote, Chuck Beatty, Jim LaMastra, and Sara Tillie were elected.

### K. Moderator and Conduct Policy for Social Media:

- a. Matthew Jaroszewicz proposed: "The club have a moderator to approve/disapprove posts on the Facebook page and a conduct policy for the page." The motion was seconded by Jim LaMastra.
- b. After discussion, the motion carried by unanimous consent.

The meeting adjourned at 1:05 pm.

Next board meeting date: TBD

#### Attachments:

2021 Agenda Annual Meeting.pdf

Who Was Elected When—History of the Nominating Committee.pdf